Columbia Faculty Requested to Sign Dissent From CU-FAC Statement

  • 0

SPME Editor’s Note: Profs. Judith Jacobson and Awi Federgruen who are requesting that Columbia Faculty join them and 69 others, whose names are affixed below in signing and circulating this petition to other Columbia colleagues which reads as below and can be signed and circulated at The situation is unfolding as you receive this and you are being asked to respond right now.

The CU-FAC Statement and other commentary can be found at:

Statement of Dissent From CU-FAC Statement

A group of faculty members in the Arts and Sciences has been circulating for signature a “statement of concern” to be presented to the Arts and Sciences Faculty meeting on November 13. The main accusation in the statement is that the university administration has failed to make a vigorous defense of academic freedom. Four specific issues are singled out. One of these relates to budgetary and enrollment decisions pertaining to the Arts and Sciences, about which which most of us have no business rendering judgment. The remaining three, however, deal with academic affairs relevant to the university as a whole:

1. That the administration has failed to make clear that interventions by outside groups “will not be tolerated”: We agree that tenure reviews must be conducted exclusively by peer academics within the university and at other academic institutions. However, the university has responsibilities to its students, alumni, donors, and outside community. When nonacademics and outsiders encounter or hear about what they consider inappropriate forms of teaching, allegations of intimidation or harassment, or the distortion of basic historical or scientific facts, they are justified in expressing, and entitled by the First Amendment to express, their objections. No university administration has the power to prevent such expression.

2. That President Bollinger’s introductory remarks to Ahmadinejad “allied the university with the Bush administration’s war in Iraq”: As the publicly available transcript confirms, these remarks addressed sequentially: 1) Holocaust denial; 2) Ahmadinejad’s stated intent to destroy Israel; 3) Iran’s funding of terrorism; 4) Iran’s proxy war against US troops in Iraq; and 5) Iran’s nuclear program. Only the fourth item refers to the war in Iraq, and only in the context of Iran’s role in financing and arming terrorist attacks against our troops.

3. That “the President has publicly taken partisan political positions concerning the politics of the Middle East, without apparent expertise in this area or consultation with faculty who teach and undertake research in this area” : We follow President Bollinger’s public statements closely. The only one that may be characterized as concerning the politics of the Middle East is his denunciation of the British University and College Union’s proposed boycott of Israeli academics, which he described as “antithetical to the fundamental values of the academy.” This statement is actually not about the political problems of the Middle East; it is precisely what President Bollinger is accused of not providing: a vigorous defense of academic freedom, based on his recognition that denying such freedom to any individual or group endangers the entire academic enterprise.

We the undersigned therefore dissent from the CU-FAC statement.

Efrat Aharonovich

Kenneth Altman

Elizabeth Anisfeld

Paul S. Appelbaum

Marc S. Arkovitz

Jeffrey A. Ascherman

Mitchell C. Benson

Mitchell F. Berman

Bernard Berofsky

Nehama R. Bersohn

Joan Birman

Adam Heath Cannon

Charles Calomiris

Mark Cane

Myron L. Cohen

Jonathan David

Len Druyan

Barry A. Farber

Awi Federgruen

Scott A. Fink

Philip Genty

Michael D. Gershon

Michael E. Goldberg

Robert R. Goodman

Victor R. Grann

Linda Granowetter

Jonathan L. Gross

Jeffrey Helzner

Ralph Holloway

Barry Honig

Allen I. Hyman

Judith S. Jacobson

Sandra Kahn

Eric R. Kandel

Ran Kivetz

Oscar Lebwohl

Jonathan Levav

Moshe Levison

Nahum Melumad

Elizabeth Midlarsky

Abraham Monk

Alfred I. Neugut

Walter Neumann

Peter Ozsvath

Evan Picoult

Ruth Raphaeli-Slivko

Irina Reyfman

Jay Rothschild

Samuel Schacher

Alan F. Segal

Alan A. Seplowitz

Neil S. Shachter

Howard Shuman

Ethel S. Siris

Mervyn W. Susser

Robert N. Taub

Olivier Toubia

Warren D. Widmann

Eric D. Zarahn

Assaf Zeevi

Thomas D. Zweifel

Columbia Faculty Requested to Sign Dissent From CU-FAC Statement

  • 0


Scholars for Peace in the Middle East (SPME) is not-for-profit [501 (C) (3)], grass-roots community of scholars who have united to promote honest, fact-based, and civil discourse, especially in regard to Middle East issues. We believe that ethnic, national, and religious hatreds, including anti-Semitism and anti-Israelism, have no place in our institutions, disciplines, and communities. We employ academic means to address these issues.

Read More About SPME

Read all stories by SPME

Skip to toolbar